Satchel o’ Satchel!

My character signature saying for anything if someone asks my opinion about doing social events, eating, drinking, going to bed, wearing underwear etc is, “Whatever, I’m easy”. This is incredibly frustrating for my best friend, who, for a week had been asking me what I wanted to do on Sunday when we agreed to meet up. I had the whole week to come up with something, and as usual, Mr. Last Minute, Mr. Laid Back ended up saying, “let’s do whatever, I’m easy”. Initially we were to take to Regent’s Park and take some photographs. My camera battery charger had been playing up, so that idea had to take a back seat. That’s not to say we didn’t have a great day. We gossiped like school girls in a cake shop in central London. Lemonade, mineral water, coconut and apple cakes decorated our stool height appropriate table. I, thatched baker’s boy hat donned, dressed in a black wool jumper, ‘Skilled Guitarist’ rope like stitched in cursive font across my chest,  fittingly enclosed with a slate grey 3/4 length overcoat detailed with a velvet collar and black Grenson brogue boots. We were dressed and ready for the February winter day. After satiating our incredibly sweet teeth (literally and figuratively), we headed for a wonder. Blakes clicking on the West End pavement, slight breeze blowing our overcoats back, we stumbled upon London Fashion Week! This should have been a camera day! Argh! Never mind…

We perused Seven Dials having a look at whatever took our fancy. At one point, this was in the form of Trilbies and Bowler hats. My friend and I conversed with the tall trendy, rock band looking shop owner. Angelina Jolie was here before us and bought a black Trilby for hubby, coincidentally the one I was considering purchasing. (You know what they say about great minds).  We were nearing the end of our Sunday trading hours galavant when we ended up in the Cambridge Satchel Company in Covent Garden.

Having been graciously welcomed into their store so close to closing, we headed downstairs to the Men’s section. Quick glances left and right, after a few minutes, nothing really caught my eye. An attractive petite, brunette sales assistant came over and asked if I needed some help. Before I could decline, Sam asked “Do you have any backpacks that would interest my friend?” She smiled, and said “Indeed I do, this way please”.

 

The Expedition Backpack

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 21.38.43.png

£215

IMG_0450.JPG

£120

The Brown and Camel bag was shown to me first. Strikingly, simple in design, classic and timeless. This is a staple piece. The leather was firm but malleable, soft to the touch, finished with a slight waxing. The detailing is what gripped me. Perfectly stitched, lovingly handmade in Britain, brandishing a unique grain leather has to offer. Over time, it will personify the wearer, truly making it an extension of me. I was already sold. It wasn’t until she asked if I would be interested in seeing the navy one, that I realised I had a real task on my hands.

CSC Detail2.jpg

I tried on the brown one, then the navy. Then the brown. And the navy once more. Had them side by side. Caressing the leather as I tried to make up my mind. Even made Sam swear to me, he would not let me, under no circumstance, buy them both. They both looked phenomenal on! Each one told a different story, complimented a different look, accounted for different personalities. I was, literally torn. Both bags were an embodiment of me. The backpacks boasted blandishments for several occasions. Universally, they are both timeless.  I even left the store, (professing on my way out I would be back) and looked in two other shops. They just were not the same. I came back, like I promised. Sat down on the quilted leather stool, deliberating between the classic navy or the smart/trendy brown.  The feel, the look, the service, the aftercare, the packaging, the customisation. Everything was there! Even down to the protection and care instructions. I haven’t had a shop visit that throughly enjoyable in a very long time.

Over the last few months I had been looking at bags. I wanted something subtle yet versatile. I wanted a staple piece. Up until that day, I hadn’t found anything I really liked. While I’m sure you all know of this company, I was incredibly impressed with the whole experience I had received. It usually doesn’t take much for me to make up my mind. If I think it’s irresistible and delicious and will compliment my fashion palette delightfully, It will become mine.

Pack CSC.jpg

 

20140314-165812.jpg

Leave a comment